Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Three Counties With The Least Number of Registered Voters in Kenya

According to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission the data on which is the most registered county in terms of votes and which is not well represented is something that is there for the public to see.

Picture courtesy.

Recently, the Commission embarked on registering voters across the country with an aim to increase the number by a large margin.

Thee exercise is already ongoing across the country with hopes to conclude it in a month's time across all the 47 counties and an increase in the number of voters.

In the last registration exercise, however, some counties did not turn up well in terms of voters.

Here are the bottom three counties in terms of voters registered:

Tana River County

This is one of the counties that did not excellently turn up for the voter registration process and they managed to ganner a paltry 79,454 voters.

However, despite this small number a presidential candidate looking to get the 25 counties needed would be lucky to win here.

Picture courtesy.

Samburu County

This is another county that has a lot of clashes from time to time and most of the people don't live in formal settlements.

A lot of factors have contributed to the low voter registration turnout in the last exercise of just 61,114 voters.

Isiolo County

This is the county that had the least number of registered voters in the country in the last exercise.

Again, some factors in this county contributed to the low number of voters registered turnout.

The low number of people that turned out to register also reflects on the number of people living in the county.

This managed to register just 54,462 people on the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission list.

Picture courtesy.

Many await to see by how many the number of registered voters will increase by when the exercise concludes.

Content created and supplied by: KimaniOsoro21 (via Opera News )

Commission Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Tana River County


Load app to read more comments