Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Handshake allied governors win all senior positions in today council of governors election

Today county governors converged in Nairobi for their council of governors elections. All forty seven county governors attended the meeting in their headquarters.

Handshake allied governors have won all senior positions in today's council of governors election.

Embu governor Martin Wambora was elected as the chairman of Council of governors and Kisii governor James Ongwae as his deputy chair. Elgeyo Marakwet governor Alex Tolgos also won as the council's whip.

" H.E Martin Wambora elected as council of governors chair by concensus. H.E James Ongwae and H.E Alex Tolgos to continue serving as vice chairman and whip respectively" wrote Council of governors on its official Twitter account.

The three governors are supporter of handshake between president Uhuru Kenyatta and former prime minister Raila Odinga. They have also publicly endorsed Raila Odinga presidential bid.

Governor Martin Wambora will now serves his second term as chairman of the council. The second term governor took over from Kakamega governor Wycliffe Oparanya in January 2021.

First chairman of Council of governors was former Bomet governor Isaac Ruto followed by former Meru governor Peter Munya as second chair. Turkana governor Josphat Nanok then took over from Peter Munya as the third chairman before handing over to Kakamega governor Wycliffe Oparanya.

Content created and supplied by: PeterPoliticalNews (via Opera News )

Alex Tolgos H.E James Ongwae H.E Martin Wambora Isaac Ruto Raila Odinga


Load app to read more comments