Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

I’ve Never Refused To Receive DP Ruto’s Calls, Top CS Now Contradicts DP Ruto's claims

As election fever appears to have taken hold of the country, with a number of Cabinet Secretaries resigning to join DP Ruto's United Democratic Alliance party in an attempt to run for political office, a close ally of President Uhuru Kenyatta is now stating that, while he is uncomfortable with William Ruto for disrespecting the president, he has never refused to pick up his calls. At the time, Eugene Wamalwa, the Defence Cabinet Secretary, was speaking during an appearance on TV's Kigoda Chako, which was presented by Salim Swaleh, the station's presenter.

Eugene Wamalwa was fairly candid in his response to his host's inquiry about the president's relationship with his deputy and the cabinet's overall coherence.

He confessed that he does have disagreements with his supervisor, the vice president, about his lack of regard for the president.

Nonetheless, he stated emphatically that he has never shunned or neglected the second-in-command, adding that their disagreements are strictly professional in nature but that they remain friends.

The country has recently witnessed public spats between the vice president and several cabinet secretaries, including Fred Matiang'I and Joe Mucheru.

Only one Cabinet Secretary and two Principal Secretaries attended an important meeting hosted by Deputy President William Ruto late last year.

CS in Support of Devolution Charles Keter, PSs Julius Muia (Treasury) and Julius Korir Julius (Devolution), attended the Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC) at the DP's Karen official residence, which was chaired by the DP.

The Chairman of the Council of Governors was also present at the meeting, which was chaired by Embu Governor Martin Wambora.

Ndiritu Muriithi (Laikipia), Stanley Kiptis (Baringo), Josphat Nanok (Turkana), Paul Chepkwony (Kericho), Anyang 'Nyong'o (Kisumu), Jackson Mandago (Uasin Gishu), Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga), and Sospeter Ojamoog (Kirinyaga) were also in attendance, representing the 47 governors.

Margaret Nyakango, Controller of Budget, Jane Kiringai, Auditor General Nancy Gathungu, and Judiciary head registrar Anne Amadi were also in attendance.

Ruto had invited Treasury Cabinet Secretary Ukur Yatani, Transport Cabinet Secretary James Macharia, Education Cabinet Secretary George Magoha, Agriculture Cabinet Secretary Peter Munya, and Charles Keter (Devolution).

Content created and supplied by: Okiondo (via Opera News )

DP Eugene Wamalwa Kigoda Chako Salim Swaleh Uhuru Kenyatta


Load app to read more comments