Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

4 Prominent Kenyan Politicians Who Were First Nominated Before Being Elected

1.Johnson Sakaja.

Johnson Sakaja is a Kenyan politician who was born on 2nd February 1985.He is the current governor for Nairobi county.He was elected in 2022 general elections under UDA party ticket.He is the former Nairobi county senator from 2017 to 2022.He also served as a nominated Member of the National Assembly from 2013 to 2017.

The good looking governor was among the people who helped in forming The National Alliance (TNA) party, a party that saw president Uhuru Kenyatta ride to victory during the 2013 presidential elections.In 2013 the party nominated him as a member of Parliament.Sakaja became the chairman of TNA till 2016 when the party merged with 12 others parties to form the Jubilee Party.

In 2017 General elections Sakaja was elected as the senator of Nairobi county under Jubilee party ticket.In 2022 general elections Sakaja won the Nairobi city gubernatorial seat Under UDA defeating Polycarp Igathe of ODM.

2.Cecily Mbarire.

Cecily Mbarire is a Kenyan politician and the current Embu County governor.She was born on 26th December 1972.She is the former Runyenjes Constituency Member of Parliament.She has however served as two terms nominated MP in the year 2002 - 2007 and 2017 - 2022.

The female governor served as two terms elected Member of Parliament from 2007 to 2017.She also served as two terms nominated Member of Parliament in the year 2002 - 2007 and 2017 - 2022.

Cecily was first nominated as the Member of Parliament in 2002-2007.In 2007 she vied on a PNU ticket and in 2013 she was re-elected under (TNA) party ticket.She was nominated again as the Member Parliament by the Jubilee Party from 2017 to 2022.In 2022 general elections she won the Embu county gubernatorial seat under UDA party ticket.

3.Millie Odhiambo.

Millie Odhiambo is a Kenyan politician and a professional lawyer.She is the current member of Parliament for Suba North constituency which previously was known as Mbita constituency.She was born on 1st November 1966.She is known for her outspoken personality.She is a strong supporter of ODM party leader Raila Odinga.

Millie has worked as a lawyer and women and children activist.She first thought about becoming Suba North Member Parliament at age 13 and she started working towards her dream.

The female MP was nominated to Parliament in 2008 by Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party.She was elected as the member of Parliament for Suba North constituency in 2013 general elections .She was again re-elected in 2017 general elections and in 2022 general elections she retained the seat under ODM party ticket.

4.Naisula Leesuda.

Naisula Leesuda is a Kenyan politician and women's rights activist.She was born on 30th in 1984.She became the first woman to be elected as a Member of Parliament from current serving member of Parliament for Samburu West constituency.

Lesuuda was a journalist before joining politics in 2013.She worked as a journalist at the Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC) as a Reporter,News Anchor and host of Good Morning Kenya.she also ran a Media consultancy firm,where she was a trainer and workshop facilitator.

Naisula Leesuda started her political journey in 2013 when she was nominated as a Kenyan Senator.she also served as the vice chair of the Kenya Women Parliamentary Association (KEWOPA).In 2017 general elections Naisula Leesuda was elected as the Samburu West constituency Member of Parliament and in 2022 general elections she retained the seat.

For more information like, comment and share.

Content created and supplied by: Belicenyamoita (via Opera News )

Johnson Sakaja Kenyan Sakaja Uhuru Kenyatta


Load app to read more comments