Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

List Of CSs Campaigning For Raila And Those Sitting On The Fence

The president of the republic of Kenya Uhuru Kenyatta decided to renege on his earlier promise of backing Ruto and instead threw his weight behind the opposition chief Raila Odinga.

Having promised to hit the ground running inorder to market Raila in the vote-rich mount Kenya region, Uhuru is yet to do so.

It's now widely believed that the president has decided to take a back seat and instead use the cabinet secretaries to campaign for his preferred candidate.

Some of the cabinet secretaries that are openly drumming up support for Raila include interior's Dr Fred Matiangi, Joe mucheru of ICT, James macharia of transport, Ukur Yatani of Treasury , Eugine wamalwa, Keriako Tobiko, Mutahi kagwe and Peter Munya of agriculture.

The Azimio boss Raila Odinga has already stated that CS Munya will be retained as agriculture CS should he win the presidency on August 9.

This therefore means that the cabinet secretaries who are actively involved in campaigning for Raila have their future secured Incase he Wins.

It's Worth noting that Four CSs resigned in February this year to go and contest for various seats. They include Charles Keter, Adan Mohamed, Sicily kariuki and John munyes.

Nevertheless, there are others who have just decided to abide by the constitution by remaining nonpartisan or seating on the fence.

The question is whether they are safe should either Raila or Ruto win the presidency.

Do you think the nonpartisan CSs should be absorbed in the next government for abiding by the constitution? Feel free to share your thoughts and comments on this on our comments platform.

Content created and supplied by: @yokeabu (via Opera News )

James Joe mucheru Keriako Tobiko Peter Munya Ukur Yatani


Load app to read more comments