Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Nandi: 4 Former Rift Valley Governors Who Are Determined To Make A Strong Comeback In 2022

The date for 2022 general election is drawing closer and closer and politicians who are aspiring for diverse elective positions are not leaving anything to chance.

They are branding their profiles in a bid to appear sellable and appealing to the electorate since the same is going to give them the leadership mandate.

The political scene is comprised of diversity of politicians, some of who are new to the game while others are used to the same. In the group of old politicians, there are those who were once elected to office but failed while seeking to retain their seats.

Implementation of Kenya's new constitution in 2013 brought with it six elective seats among them Member of County Assembly (MCA), Member of National Assembly (MP), senator, County Woman National Assembly MP, county governor and president.

Individuals who became lucky to be elected to office in 2013 as governors and managed to retain their seats in 2017 are happy to exit or remain in politics. However, some of them were unlucky to seek second mandates in 2017 polls. They have been in political cold for almost five years and have vowed to make a surprising comeback.

In the former Rift Valley region, four former governors are preparing themselves to challenge their sitting rivals who enthroned them in 2017. They include:

1) Dr Cleophas Lagat _ Nandi

Dr Cleophas Lagat was elected to office in 2013 polls on a defunct United Republican Party (URP). He served for five years before Stephen Sang, who was the county senator then beat him in 2017, both in Jubilee primaries and general election. He plans to make a stab at the gubernatorial seat again in 2022 using United Democratic Alliance (UDA)

2) Isaac Rutto _Bomet

The late governor Joyce Laboso defeated Isaac Rutto in 2017 after the former fell out with deputy president Dr William Ruto. After the death of Dr Laboso, her deputy Dr Hillary Barchok was sworn in as the next governor.

Dr Barchok has announced that he would be seeking to retain his seat in 2022 polls on a UDA ticket while Isaac wants to run for the same post using his Chama Cha Mashinani (CCM) party. This comes after the latter reconciled with Dr Ruto.

3) Simon Kachapin _ West Pokot

Kachapin was beaten by Prof John Lonyangapuo in 2017. President Uhuru Kenyatta later appointed him as Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS). He has vowed to fight it out with Prof Lonyangapuo.

4) Benjamin Cheboi _ Baringo

Benjamin Cheboi is among Dr Ruto's close allies in Baringo. He has alleged that he would battle it out with the incumbent Stanley Kiptis to redeem his seat in next year's election.

Content created and supplied by: Tororey (via Opera News )

County Woman National Assembly Kenya National Assembly Rift Valley


Load app to read more comments