Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Senators Who Have Won, Lost 2022 Polls

The 2022 general elections saw the ousting of various political heavyweights in the Kenyan political scene.

The Kenyan Senate is also losing powerful politicians and a young and energetic leader is emerging.

Moses Wetang'ula Retains Senate Seat. Ford Kenya Leader and Kenya Kwanza Leader Moses Wetang'ula has successfully retained his Bungoma Senate seat. Wetangila won with his 286,143 votes.

Moses Kajwang' Declared Homa Bay Senator. Moses Kajwang' of ODM retained has retained his seat after receiving 353,882 votes. His nearest challenger, KANU's Thomas Ojanga, got 18,690 votes.

Okiya Omtata wins Senate election in Busia. Okiya Omtata of the National Recovery Alliance (NRA) has won the Senate election in Busia. He received 171,681 votes. The human rights activist defeated his ODM's Hilary Itera who finished second with 59,276 votes.

Eddy Oketch Wins Migori Senate. ODM candidate Eddy Oketch has won the Migori Senate seat after polling 295,228 votes.

Oburu Oginga won the Siaya Senate seat. Oburu Oginga of the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) successfully contested for the Siaya Senate seat. Oburu beat independent candidate Julius Okita by 33,898 votes to 285,595.

Content created and supplied by: OtengaJNR (via Opera News )


Load app to read more comments