Sign in
Download Opera News App



State completes appointment of officers to the Nairobi Metropolitan Service

The Nairobi Metropolitan Service is now ready to hit the ground running after the state deployed various officers to take over the running of the functions transferred from the county government.

Head of Public Service Joseph Kinyua on Monday officially communicated to all government ministries and the Council of Governors of the new changes that have since been gazzeted.

The 32 officers from various government departments will team up with officers from City Hall to offer services to Nairobi residents.

Among them is Dr Ouma Oulga from the Vihiga County government to NMS as the Chief Officer, Health.

Other key appointments include that of James Mageto Nyamweya from treasury and will now be the principal accountant at NMS.Other officers deployed from treasury to the finance department include George Kihara Gichuru as Senior Deputy Accountant General, Mr Dismas O.Ogot as Senior Deputy Director Accountant General,Johnson Njuguna as the Assistant Accountant General ,Constance Mwikamba and and Daniel Karani who are also Assistant Accountant Generals.

Deployments to the lands docket will Mr.Jones Nyangweso from the ministry of Lands as the Director lands and Administration, Jones Ntabo who will serve as the secretary ,Juliana Mutua will be Dircetor ,Development Control and Michael Owen Nageri Luchu as Director , Valuation and Rating.

The transport department will be led by Engineer Michael Ochieng as the secretary Martin Eshiwani as the Director Roads and Transport,Engineer, Peter Mwaniki as Chief Officer Roads and Mr. John Muya as Chief Officer, Transport.

The Housing Department will be managed by Mr Charles Wafula as the Secretary, Housing and Urban Development, Ms. Lilian Kieni as Chief Officer, Estate Management and Slum Upgrading, Marion Rono as the Chief Officer, Affordable Housing Programme and Richard Mareri as Director, Urban Renewal.

The new appointments mean that all Chief Officer positions that have been vacant have now been filled.

Those deployed as secretaries will co-head the departments with respective County Executive Members from the county government while all junior officers in the county will continue serving in their current position.

Other key appointments are in the Public Works and Water Departments.

Content created and supplied by: lawintosky (via Opera News )

John Muya Nairobi Nairobi Metropolitan Service Ouma Oulga Peter Mwaniki


Load app to read more comments