Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Azimio's Petition Lists IEBC Commissioners Abdi Guliye & Bola Molu as Interested Parties

Since the announcement of the presidential election results on August 15th, Azimio One Kenya Coalition has been talking about challenging those results in the supreme court. Today, exactly one week since the declaration of Ruto as president-elect, Azimio finally files a petition at the Supreme court to challenge his victory. In the petition, Azimio has listed the president-elect, William Samoei Ruto, Deputy president-elect Rigathi Gachagua, IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati, and IEBC Commission as respondents.

In the petition documents, The Azimio One Kenya presidential candidate Raila Amolo Odinga and his Running mate Martha Karua, together with the four splinter commissioners led by IEBC vice chairperson Juliana Cherera are listed as interested parties. The four commissioners are Vice Chair Juliana Cherera, Francis Wanderi, Irene Masit, and Justus Nyagaya. The IEBC commission comprises seven commissioners, with Chebukati being the leader.

In this saga, two commissioners have been silent. However, it was a shocker to all Kenyans after learning that the two are in Cherera's team as interested parties, a move expected to strengthen the case against their leader Wafula Chebukati. The two commissioners are Bola Molu and Professor Abdi Guliye.

Content created and supplied by: Nyongesa-254 (via Opera News )

IEBC Commission Raila Amolo Odinga Supreme Wafula Chebukati William Samoei Ruto


Load app to read more comments