Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

8 Cabinets Secretaries Rallying Behind Raila’s 2022 Bid

Eight cabinet secretaries inside President Uhuru Kenyatta’s administration are set to throw their hats in the political ring, either as direct participants or supporting their preferred candidate, with an intention of getting an appointment in government. Below are eight cabinet secretaries in government who have openly associated with Mr. Odinga’s 2022 bid.

1. Fred Matiang'i (Internal Security)

Dr. Fred Okengo Matiang'i is a Kenyan Cabinet Secretary. He is the current Cabinet Secretary for the Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government in Kenya. He assumed office on 7th July 2017 on acting capacity after the sudden Demise of Gen Joseph ole Nkaissery, making him hold two cabinet positions concurrently, that is in the ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government and Education, Science and Technology. He took up the full position of cabinet secretary for Internal Security and Coordination of National Government after being appointed by President Uhuru Kenyatta in January 2018 in the president's second comprehensive cabinet appointments.

2. Mutahi Kagwe (Health)

Hon. Mutahi Kagwe is the Cabinet Secretary for Health in the Republic of Kenya. He took his oath of office on Friday, February 28th, 2020. He is a tenured Kenyan politician who served as the first Senator of Nyeri County.

3. Eugene Wamalwa (Devolution)

Eugene Ludovic Wamalwa is a Kenyan politician who is the Cabinet Secretary of the Ministry of Devolution and ASALs, an expansion of the former Ministry of Devolution. Until 26 January 2018, he was Cabinet Secretary for Water and Irrigation. He is also a former minister for Justice.

4. Peter Munya (Agriculture)

Peter Gatirau Munya is the Cabinet Secretary of Kenya's Ministry of Agriculture. He took over the ministry on 14 January 2020, after being transferred from the Ministry of Trade and Industrialization. He also served in the same capacity in the ministry of East African Community and Northern Corridor Development.

5. Keriako Tobiko (Environment)

Keriako Tobiko is a Kenyan Cabinet Secretary for Environment. As a lawyer by profession, he previously served as the Director of Public Prosecutions of Kenya. As of 2021, he is a Cabinet Secretary of Environment.

6. John Munyes (Petroleum)

Hon. John Munyes, was appointed Cabinet Secretary for Ministry of Petroleum and Mining by President Uhuru Kenyatta in January 2018. Prior to his appointment as Cabinet Secretary, Hon. Munyecs served as the Senator for the oil-rich Turkana County for 5 years beginning 2013 and ending 2017.

7. Ukur Yatani (Treasury)

Ukur Yattani Kanacho is a Kenyan politician and ambassador, and was appointed as Treasury Secretary on 14 January 2020. 2019 On 24 July 2019 President Uhuru Kenyatta appointed Ukur Yatan Kanacho as the Cabinet Secretary for Treasury on Acting capacity following the sacking of Henry Rotich.

8. Joe Mucheru (ICT)

Joseph Wakaba Mucheru is the current Kenyan Cabinet Secretary in the Ministry of Information and Communications. Joe has been holding that office since 2015 when His Excellency the President of Kenya Uhuru Kenyatta appointed him. He is a former Google Sub-Sahara Africa Lead based in the Google Nairobi office. He was Google's first Sub-Saharan employee and was key to setting up of Googles presence in Africa from 2007.

Content created and supplied by: msafiri91 (via Opera News )

Fred Okengo Matiang'i Internal Security Ministry of Interior and Coordination Mutahi Kagwe Raila


Load app to read more comments