Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

List Of 12 Powerful Governors Who Could Run For MP Seats In 2022

Makueni Governor Kivutha Kibwana ( Photo Courtesy)

With only some months remaining to the next general election, a good number of Governors will be forced to make tough decisions which could have a bearing on their political careers.

At least 10 Governors are expected to leave office in 2022 after serving a maximum of two terms as dictated by the Constitution. But the question has always been: what next for them post 2022?

With some of them still in their 40s and 50s, they are not going to exit the stage any time soon. As such, they could decide to go for other positions, especially the MP seat.

With this in mind, the following Governors could vie for MP seats:

Uasin Gishu Governor Jackson Mandago ( Photo Courtesy)

1. Jackson Mandago: The Uasin Gishu county chief is among those who will be exiting office in 2022. But what next for him? At 48 years next year, Mandago is "too young to retire" and might go for MP seat.

2. Sospeter Ojaamong: The Busia Governor is exiting office in 2022 and is said to be eyeing the Teso South MP seat.

3. Alfred Mutua: The Machakos Governor's term in office will be expiring in 2022.

Though he has already declared his bid for President, Dr Mutua could decide to run for MP seat.

4. Martin Wambora: Embu Governor Martin Wambora ( Photo Courtesy)

Embu Governor Martin Wambora's term in office will also be ending in 2022. What next for the Council of Governors chairman? Running for an MP seat could be an option.

5. Cornel Rasanga: The Siaya County Governor is said to be eyeing the Alego Usonga MP seat.

6. Hassan Joho: After 10 years in office, the Mombasa Governor will exit office in 2022. Considering his political stature across the country, Joho has a tough decision to make on his future. But still, he can run for MP seat.

7. Kivutha Kibwana: The Makueni Governor is eyeing the presidency come 2022. But in an event he decides to abandon his State House bid, Prof. Kibwana can still run for MP seat.

8. Amason Kingi of Kilifi

9. Josphat Nanok

10. James Ongwae

11. Wycliffe Oparanya

12. Cyprian Awiti

Content created and supplied by: LarryKatana (via Opera News )

Kivutha Kibwana Makueni


Load app to read more comments