Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

In four wards, the IEBC has suspended the election process.

Elections will not be held in the four wards where the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission has halted voting.

In a Gazette Notice dated July 25, the Commission chairperson Wafula Chebukati stated, "We shall inform via a Gazette notice when said elections would be conducted."

The wards are the Oloimasani ward in Kitui County, the Thaana ward in Mwingi West, the Emurua Dikir Constituency in Narok, the South Gem in Gem, the Siaya and the Utawala ward in Embakasi East.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission must first give notice to the four wards before announcing when the elections will be held in the event that the candidates pass away.

Days prior, the same commission had revealed that they might be required to halt boring in places where there are conflicts.

Wafula Chebukati, the head of the Commission, made the point that any delay in resolving the 31 disagreement cases that were still before the courts may have an impact on crucial procedures, which would jeopardize how the exercise was carried out.

"As a commission, we cannot wait indefinitely if, for any reason, they are not completed in a timely manner.In those places where decisions are made that have an impact on the printing of ballot papers, we will be compelled to postpone the polls, he said.

Content created and supplied by: Latinnews (via Opera News )

Independent Mwingi West Thaana Utawala Wafula Chebukati


Load app to read more comments