Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Kenya Power Announces an Electric Blackout in These Counties

The Kenya Power and Lightning Company KPLC today have named various counties that will experience a blackout today. In their official notice today, Kenya Power named five coastal counties:Mombasa, Kilifi, Kwale, Tanariver and Lamu that will be out of power today.

Kenya Power said that this blackout is due to a serious fire incident which occurred today early in the morning at their Rabai substation in Mombasa county.However,the company did not say how long it will take to get rid of the blackout.

"Our engineers are on site to assess the extent of the damage and restore normal electricity supply as soon as possible," their statement read.

Kenya Power has been the only company allowed to supply electricity in the whole country. However,two companies have recently presented their wish to start selling power. These companies are East Africa Breweries Limited and the East African Malting limited.

East Africa Breweries Limited want to set up two electric generators at Kisumu and Nairobi cities. The East Africa Malting limited said that their 2.2 megawatts generator could be set up at its Kampala Road plant. These companies could get rid of the KPLC monopolistic powers in the Kenyan energy market.

Content created and supplied by: Latestnewskenya (via Opera News )

KPLC Kenya Power Kwale Lamu Tanariver


Load app to read more comments