Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Mudavadi, Muturi Disqualified From August Presidential Race

11 MPs disqualified by IEBC for failing to submit running mates by May 16 deadline.

ANC's Musalia Mudavadi, NA Speaker Justin Muturi, and Jirani Mzalendo's Lengala David William.

Eight independents were disqualified.

Mbugua Benson Mwaura, Kihuha Esther Waringa, Aoko Benard Ongir, Odhiambo Kevin Onyango, Ndekerere Joseph Kundu, Ngechu Moses Gichuki, Katoni Benjamin Kevin Ndambuki, Nyagoko Jacob Oanda.

IEBC chairperson Wafula Chebukati stated Monday they are dealing with timelines.

Chebukati claimed Mudavadi and Muturi's names were on the list because they submitted their information before supporting William Ruto's candidacy.

All presidential candidates had to submit their running mates by May 16 so the commission could prepare for the elections.

Chebukati stated candidates can't submit their running mates three months before the election.All presidential candidates must submit 2,000 signatures from at least 24 counties before running.

"Once the commission finishes verifying supporters, aspirants will have time to collect missing signatures." "If they miss the deadline, they will be disqualified," he warned.

The electoral bureau told presidential aspirants to submit 2,000 voter signatures by May 23.Signatures must include names, signatures, and ID or passport numbers.

55 presidential hopefuls submitted their names and running mates by May 16, 2022, according to IEBC.

One coalition party aspirant, 14 political party hopefuls, and 40 independent candidates are running, Chebukati added.

Content created and supplied by: Isaac Wafula (via Opera News )

Justin Muturi Mbugua Benson Mwaura Musalia Mudavadi Nyagoko Jacob Oanda Odhiambo Kevin Onyango


Load app to read more comments