Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Finance Committee Vets 7 Nominees For The Position Of CRA Commissioners

All the seven nominees eyeing for the positions of commissioners at the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA) have today appeared before the National Assembly's Departmental Committee on Finance and National planning for a suitability test. 

The seven are Benedict Mwasya Mutiso nominated by Kenya Kwanza, Hon. Fatma Gedi (Azimio), Dr George Jalang'o Midiwo (Azimio), Khadija Juma Nganyi (Kenya Kwanza), Dr Isabel Nyambura Waiyaki, Jonas Kuko (Kenya kwanza) and Mr. Wilfred Koitamet Ole Kina (Azimio) in their sequence of appearances before the committee at parliament buildings. 

The committee chaired by Hon. Kuria Kimani MP. Molo put the nominees to task on their understanding of the mandate of the commission more so on the mechanisms that county governments should put in place to generate own-revenue which is part of the mandate of CRA. 

Responding to questions from Members, Dr George Midiwo and Dr Isabel Nyambura underscored the need for capacity building for officials in county governments who are charging with revenue generation, so as to enhance own-revenue collection in counties. Having served as executives in Siaya and Kiambu counties, the two pointed out wastage of county funds as a major challenge that can only be tamed by digitization of revenue collection systems that are ISO certified. 

Hon. Fatma Gedi pointed out the need to increase equalization fund so as to boost development in all areas mapped out as marginalised. She was responding to Hon. (Dr) John Ariko's question on Commission’s mandate on the Equalization Fund.

The last 3 to appear before the committee were Mrs. Khadija Juma Nganyi, Mr. Jonas Kuko and Mr. Wilfred Koitamet Ole Kina, Mrs. Khadija all who observed that there is need to encourage Kenyans to pay taxes to enable the government to provide services to the people.

On his part, Mr. Kuko was put to task to explain the mandate of CRA on revenue Allocationa as spelled out in article 202 of the constitution. In his response, Mr. Kuko urged Parliament to actualize the pledge by the current government to increase funding to county governments from the current 15%. 

The last to occupy the hot seat before the committee was Mr. Wilfred Koimet Olekina who has vast experience in both public and private sectors. He noted that there is need to devolve adequate resources commensurate with all the devolved functions. He undertook that if given an opportunity to serve as a commissioner at the CRA, he would focus on building synergies between the commission-CRA-, Parliament and the Council of Governors.Mr. Ole Kina has a background in Human Resource and Finance.

The Committee is expected to table its report when the House which is currently on long recess, resumes for Special Sittings.

Content created and supplied by: WangaGirl (via Opera News )

Benedict Mwasya Mutiso Commission Finance Jonas Kuko Khadija Juma Nganyi


Load app to read more comments