Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Full list of Successful Candidates to battle for nine slots in EALA, Big names miss Out

Twenty-eight Kenyans affiliated to Kenya Kwanza and Azimio la Umoja have been fronted by their respective coalitions to go and battle for East African Legislative Assembly slots. The list released by various coalitions had some of the big names missing and instead very uncommon names were fronted. However, the familiarity of the shortlisted names was varying depending on the coalition, the Azimio coalition chose to reward its party leaders and loyalists in the awarding of the slots.

Kenya Kwanza fronted 15 names while Azimio La Umoja fronted 12 names whereas only one independent candidate succeeded to the final list out of the 16 that had applied. The Kenya Kwanza names are Former Mombasa Gubernatorial candidate Hassan Omar, Former Nominated MP David Sankok, Abdikadir Aden, Zopporah Kering, Okengo Nyambane and former URP secretary general Fredrick Muteti. In the Kenya Kwanza list there is also former nominated Senator Falhada Dekow, Ann Too, Jonas Kuko, former Igembe Central MP Cyprian Kubai, Former west Pokot woman rep Lilian Cheptoo, Rebecca Merikeju, Godfrey Maina, Yasser Ali and Salim Mohammed.

In the Azimio list there is Kalonzo Musyoka's son Kennedy Musyoka, Raila Odinga's daughter Winnie Odinga, Jubilee secretary General Jeremiah Kioni and Mohammed Shabal. Others are Kanini Kega, Justus Kizito, Fatuma Gedi, Timothy Bosire, Mohammed Diriye, Winfred Mutua, Hellen Ndeti and Beatrice Askul. Only nine members from Kenya will be elected to join East Africa Legislative Assembly.

Content created and supplied by: Collin Mwenda (via Opera News )

Ann Too Azimio David Sankok Jonas Kuko Okengo Nyambane


Load app to read more comments