Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

End of Jubilee? Jubilee's Nightmare Following the Concluded 3 By-elections

In the hotly contested Juja Constituency Member of Parliament by-election, Geroge Koimburi Ngung’u has been declared the winner. The by-election was faced with chaos and mayhem that disrupted the votes counting process. 

The by-election however faced very stiff competition between the Jubilee Party contestant and the People Empowerment Party (PEP) Contestant. However George Koimburi of PEP has emerged the winner of Juja Constituency MP by-election after he garnered 12,159 votes. Koimburi has however secured about double the number of votes compared to the Jubilee Party contestant, Susan Njeri who got 5,746 votes. 

Koimburi got 56% of the total votes in the just concluded Juja mini-poll.

The Jubilee candidate Susan Njeri Waititu was the wife to the late Juja Constituency Member of Parliament Francis Waititu. Waititu was popularly known as Wakapee. His death call for the by-election where his wife was unlucky in taking lead.

On Tuesday, IEBC conducted three by-elections; in Bonchari Constituency, Juja Constituency and Rurii Ward. Out of all these three elections, Jubilee Party haven't secured any victory.

In Bonchari Constituency Member of Parliament by-election, ODM candidate Oimeke Robert Pavel Obwoto secured victory with Jubilee Party candidate taking the second position.

In Rurii Ward Member of County Assembly by-election, UDA's candidate Francis Muraya Githaiga took the lead. The Jubilee candidate in Rurii Ward was Peter Thinji who lost the bid.

This is however a major blow for Jubilee Party after losing in all the three by-elections. Many had expectations that Jubilee Party would take the lead in Juja Constituency since Late Francis Waititu alias Wakapee was a Jubilee Party leader.

Moreover, Juja is in Kiambu County which is Uhuru Kenyatta's backyard. Many might have expected that Uhuru Kenyatta led Jubilee Party would have taken victory in Juja Constituency, however the Party lost in all the three by-elections.

Content created and supplied by: Description (via Opera News )

Geroge Koimburi Ngung Jubilee Jubilee Party Juja Koimburi


Load app to read more comments