Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Africa politics

Every County To Get Referral Hospital If The New Bill Sponsored By Woman Rep Gladys Wanga Is passed

As of today, the country has only six national referral hospitals namely Kenyatta University Teaching and Referral Hospital, Kenyatta National Hospital and Othaya Teaching and Referral Hospital.Others are Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital, Mathari National Teaching and Referral Hospital and the National Spinal Injury Referral Hospital.There are level five hospitals in some counties, including Meru, Embu, Garissa, Kakamega Kisii, Kisumu, Machakos, Mombasa, Nakuru and Nyeri.In the bill sponsored by Wanga, it suggest that,“The Bill proposes the transformation of level five hospitals to national referral hospitals and having a referral facility in each county. The Bill also generally aims at improving the management of referral health facilities and also enhancing the healthcare facilities in the country."The national government currently gives counties with referral hospitals a conditional grant of Sh4.3 billion. In the Bill, Ms Wanga wants the money to be channeled directly to the hospitals instead of counties. “There is need to bring specialized services at the county level so that people reduce the countless trips to KNH,” Ms Wanga said while addressing the need to the bill.

Content created and supplied by: SirVincentisaiah (via Opera News )

Kakamega Kisii Kenyatta University Teaching Mathari National Teaching Moi National Spinal Injury Referral Hospital.There


Load app to read more comments