Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

What You Need To Know About Bonchari By-Election

The Bonchari by election was held due to the death of the late John Oroo Oyioka who died after a long illness at The Agha Khan hospital in Kisumu.He succumbed to the illeness on February 15th 2021 and was buried at his rural home in Suneka.

He was the former Member of parliament to the Bonchari Constituency.He was elected under a People’s Democratic Party (PDP) ticket during the General Election in 2017.

The by election is set to start today with the following candidates:

1.Oimeke Robert Pavel Obwoto - Orange Democratic Movement (ODM)

2. Opore Zebedeo John - Jubilee Party

3.Teresa Oroo Bitutu- United Democratic Alliance (UDA)

4. Atancha Jeremiah- Agano Party

5. Keraa Mary Sally - United Green Movement (UGM)

6. Matagaro Paul Mongiti - Mwangaza Tu Party (MTP)

7. Mogaka Charles Ndege- Progressive Party of Kenya (PPOK)

8. Mosomi Kevin Mokaya - Party of Democratic Unity (PDU)

9. Nyabuto Margaret Gesare - Maendeleo Chap Chap Party (MCCP)

10. Nyakeya Erick Oigo - National Reconstruction Alliance (NRA)

11. Omanwa Victor Omare - Party of Economic Democracy (PED)

12. Onkendi Ondieki Jonah - The New Democrats (TND)

13. Oyugi David Ogega - Kenya Social Congress (KSC)

The elections are ongoing,UDA candidate Teresa Ogora has urged the govenment to mantain peace as they provide security during the by election.

Content created and supplied by: Ritabarongo (via Opera News )

Bonchari Keraa Mary Sally Mosomi Kevin Mokaya Nyakeya Erick Oigo Opore Zebedeo John


Load app to read more comments