Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Key changes Ruto made during the creation of his Cabinet

On Tuesday, President William Ruto revealed the names of his new, proposed cabinet members. Before they can start working, the National Assembly must approve the list.

The President made some significant adjustments to important departments during the cabinet announcement. As a result of the reforms, some government operations were transferred to other ministries while others were abolished.

The list that Ruto announced did not include the Devolution docket at all. However, Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua has been given the ministry's responsibilities and will oversee intergovernmental interactions between the National Government and County Governments.

The Ministry of Interior and National Administration will now be known as the Ministry of Interior and National Administration, among other modifications.

The Devolution CS oversaw Arid and Semi-Arid Lands during the administration of former President Uhuru Kenyatta, but under Ruto, the ministry would be responsible for the East African Community (EAC), Arid and Semi-Arid Lands (ASALs), and Regional Development.

Raychelle Omamo's ministry of foreign affairs and international trade will now be known as foreign and diaspora affairs.

While Public Service and Gender have been added to the affirmative action docket, the Youth Affairs docket has been transferred from the Public Service and integrated with Sports and Arts.

The heritage docket now includes the tourism and wildlife ministry.

Urban development, which formerly fell under the purview of the ministry of transportation, will now cooperate with the ministry of lands.

Public Works, Transportation, and Roads will all fall under one ministry.

Contrary to Uhuru's term in office, the Ruto administration will have separate ministries for trade and industry and cooperatives. A separate docket will be created in the cooperatives ministry for the growth of micro, small, and medium-sized businesses.

Ruto divided the petroleum and mining dockets and is now focusing on the blue economy and maritime matters. Petroleum and the energy docket have been integrated.

As irrigation is transferred back to the ministry of water and sanitation, agriculture and livestock development will have its own ministry.

Content created and supplied by: ThomasSankaraJnr (via Opera News )

Arid Devolution Devolution CS National Assembly Semi-Arid


Load app to read more comments