Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

The only Nyanza governor supporting William Ruto's presidential bid

Nyanza is has always been Raila's bedroom during the previous general elections. The region is made up of six counties namely Kisii, Homabay, Siaya, Nyamira, Kisumu and Migori. Raila's ODM party has been dominant in the region as most politicians always seek to use it as the vehicle to ascend to power.

Currently, all Nyanza governors are supporting Raila's presidential bid except one. James Ongwae, Cyprian Awiti, Amos Nyaribo, Peter Anyang'Nyong'o and Cornell Rasanga of Kisii, Homabay, Nyamira, Kisumu and Siaya Counties respectively are behind Raila's candidature.

The only Nyanza governor supporting Ruto's presidential bid is Zachary Okoth Obado of Migori. The governor was elected in 2017 on Raila's ODM party ticket but he later dumped the former Prime Minister. Obado late formed his party PDP which he is still using for his Political activities.

In many occasions, Obado has been asking Migori residents to vote for William Ruto in the August general election. Early this year in February, Obado hosted the deputy president in Migori county.

He accompanied the UDA presidential candidate to various places in the county where they held several political rallies. This is the only Nyanza governor who is against Raila's presidential bid ahead of August poll and this must be a good moment for Ruto in the county.

Follow me for more information and don't forget to like, share and comment.

Content created and supplied by: Otienomondi (via Opera News )

Amos Nyaribo Cyprian Awiti James Ongwae Kisumu Nyamira


Load app to read more comments