Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

JUST IN; Another IEBC Commissioner Announces Exit from the Electoral Body

Photo Courtesy;

News just in indicates that another Independent Electoral And Boundaries Commission Commissioner has announced his exit from the electoral body in 11 days just after exit of IEBC Vice chairperson Juliana Cherera, Francis Wanderi and Justus Nyangaya.

Abdi Guhliye has announced that he will be leaving the electoral commission in 11 days. He was speaking during the presentation of the results of the Elgeyo Marakwet senatorial by-election, where he also emphasized that the IEBC has remained impartial throughout his tenure, despite facing numerous challenges.

IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati and Commissioners Guliye and Boya Molu’s terms end in January 2023.

During the last general elections, him together with Boys Molu backed the presidential results that were announced by IEBC chairperson Wafula Chebukati which declared William Ruto the winner in the hotly contested elections.

Photo Courtesy;

However, Irene Masit, Julian Cherera, Francis Wanderi and Justus Nyangaya did not agree with the presidential results.

Cherera, Francis Wanderi and Justus Nyangaya have already resigned from the IEBC after their suspension by President William Ruto.


Content created and supplied by: 254Trending (via Opera News )

Abdi Guhliye Boys Molu Francis Wanderi Justus Nyangaya Wafula Chebukati


Load app to read more comments