Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

A List of Presidential Candidates that IEBC has Disqualified from the August 9th Presidential Race

The August 9th general election is just around the corner. It’s actually 76 days away from today (Tuesday May 24th). IEBC, the Only body mandated by the Kenyan constitution to run elections and by-elections, is in overdrive gear in streamline the process by ensuring all systems and mechanisms are in perfect order and or conditions. One way of achieving a flawless election is ensuring all candidates meet the bare minimum conditions.

One such condition that applies to all presidential candidates is to present a running mate before a deadline set by the IEBC. And as far as the August 9th elections are concerned, IEBC had set a deadline for presidential candidates to present their running mates by May 16th, failure to which would lead to automatic disqualification. Talking of disqualification, eleven presidential candidates have been disqualified from contesting in the forthcoming elections for failing to present their respective running mates.

These candidates are:

1. Musalia Mudavadi - Amani National Congress. 

2. Justin Muturi - Democratic Party.

3. Lengala David William - Jirani Mzalendo Party. 

4. Ndekerere Joseph Kundu - independent.

5. Katoni Benjamin Kevin Ndambuki - independent.

6. Nyagoko Jacob Oanda - independent.

7. Aoko Benard Ongir - independent.

8. Odhiambo Kevin Onyango - independent.

9. Ngechu Moses Gichuki - independent.

10. Mbugua Benson Mwaura - independent.

11. Kihuha Esther Waringa - independent.

Some of the names in the above list are supporting mainstream presidential candidates. For example, the ANC leader Musalia Mudavadi and the Speaker of the National Assembly Jussine Muturi are supporting the deputy president William Ruto’s presidential ambitions. However, before deciding to support Ruto, they had submitted their names to IEBC as a presidential candidate. There you have it!

Content created and supplied by: TrendingNEWS (via Opera News )

Amani National Congress. Democratic Party IEBC Justin Muturi Musalia Mudavadi


Load app to read more comments