Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Ranking Regions Based on the Number of Independent MPs Elected in 2022.

In the just concluded election, Kenyans managed to elect a total of 12 Independent candidates as Members of the National Assembly. This is a decline by two Members compared to the number elected in the previous 2017 election. Remember, Woman Representatives also form part of the National Assembly. But which regions led in election of independent Candidates as Members of the National Assembly? Here is how regions ranked in the number of independent Members of National Assembly in the upcoming new Parliament;

1. Mt. Kenya and Rift Valley Regions

The two Regions of Mount Kenya and Rift Valley produced the highest number of Members of the National Assembly elected on Independent tickets. The three in Rift Valley include; Caroline Ngelechei who is the new Elgeyo Marakwet Woman Representative, Kitalai Ntutu who won the Narok South Constituency seat and Timothy Kipchumba who took over Marakwet West Constituency seat. In Mount Kenya Region, there is Nobart Benard who won the Mbeere North Constituency seat, Embu County; Abdul Dawood for North Imenti Constituency, Meru County and Elijah Njoroge who walked away with the Gatundu North Constituency seat on Independent ticket.

Photo: Elgeyo Marakwet Woman Representative elect Caroline Ngelechei.

2. Nyanza Region

Nyanza Region had two Members of the National Assembly elected on Independent tickets. Migori County Woman Representative elect Fatuma Mohammed overcome ODM candidate and wave in the County to win the seat. Meanwhile, Shakeel Shabir managed to retain his Kisumu East Constituency seat as an independent candidate.

Photo: Kisumu East Constituency MP Shakeel Shabir

3. Eastern, Coastal, Nairobi and Western Regions

The four Regions of Eastern, Coast, Western and Nairobi produced one independent candidate each to the National Assembly. Eastern Region had Joshua Mwalyo, Member of National Assembly Masinga Constituency. Coast Region managed Monica Muthoni who won the Women Representative seat Lamu County on Independent ticket. While in Western Region, Geoffrey Eseka won the MP seat for Nambale Constituency. Lastly, in Nairobi, Sportpesa CEO Ronald Karauri managed to walk away with the Kasarani Constituency Parliamentary seat.

Photo: Lamu County Woman Representative elect Monica Muthoni.

Only North Eastern Region failed to elect an Independent candidate to the National Assembly in the just concluded polls.

Content created and supplied by: Spotlight (via Opera News )

Elgeyo Marakwet Independent Kitalai Ntutu Narok South Constituency National Assembly


Load app to read more comments