Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




US politics

US Elections: List Of US Incumbent President's Who Have Been Defeated In Past Elections

US Elections: List Of US Incumbent President's Who Had Been Defeated In Elections. 

Currently, in the history of the United States of America, Donald Trump is the 11th incumbent president to be defeated in a national election. Before him, there are other ten president's but he has now joined the league of the defeated president's. Although Donald Trump's presence on the political scenes could be reignited come 2024, it's a matter of wait and see on how the card's will be played on the United States.

The other United States onesie yes include;- 

1) John Adams - He served between 1797 to 1801. He was the first vice president and the second president. He was a federalist and was defeated by a Democrat Thomas Jefferson.

2) John Quincy Adams 

He served between 1825 and 1829 and he was defeated by Andrew Jackson.

3) Martin Van Buren 

He served between 1837 and 1841 

4) Grover Cleveland.

Served between 1885 to 1889 and lost the elections to Benjamin Harrison.

5) Benjamin Harrison.

He only served for one term just like his predecessor Grover. He served between 1889 and 1893.

6) William Howard Taft 

Between 1909 and 1913 , he was the president.

He was defeated by Woodward Wilson in 1912.

7) Herbert Hoover.

He was defeated by Franklin Roosevelt in the year 1932. He only served between 1929 and 1933.

8) Gerald Ford

He lost to Jimmy Carter.

9) Jimmy Carter 

He lost to Ronald Reagan.

10) George H.W. Bush.

He lost to Bill Clinton in 1992. 

11) Donald Trump

He lost to Joe Biden in the 2020 elections. 

Content created and supplied by: THECAMERA (via Opera News )

Andrew Jackson Donald Trump John Adams Thomas Jefferson US


Load app to read more comments