Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Lee Kinyajui & Top Azimio MPS Among Politicians Set To Ditch Raila As Mass Defection In Azimio Looms

President William Ruto's camp is set to expand after it emerged that a number of Azimio politicians and his rebellious Rift Valley politicians are set to decamp to his camp.

According to reliable sources, a number of politicians who vied for varius seats in Rift Valley region on parties affiliated to Azimio and lost, are set to join president William Ruto's side. Also set to ditch Raila's camp are those who won in the elections.

A photo collage of former Nakuru County governor Lee Kinyanjui and Irine Njoki. Photo/Courtesy

The politicians include the immediate former Nakuru County governor Lee Kinyanjui who ran on Jubilee and lost to UDA's Kihika, Bahati constituency member of Parliament Irine Njoki of Jubilee party, and Jubilee's Samuel Arama, member of Parliament for Nakuru West.

Others are Moitalel Ole Kenta, former Narok constituency member of Parliament who unsuccessfully vied for Narok county gubernatorial seat on Raila's Orange Democratic Movement party ticket. Kenta has been a long time ally of former prime minister Raila Odinga.

Also set to defect are election loosers including the former immediate member of Parliament for Kesses Mishra Kiprop, former Nandi Hills constituency member of Parliament Alfred Keter, and Former Cherengany constituency member of Parliament Hon Joshua Kutuny.

The leaders are said to be decamping to avoid being in political cold. This will see Ruto have a full control of his Rift Valley Backyard.

Content created and supplied by: NewInKenya (via Opera News )

Lee Lee Kinyanjui Nakuru County Narok Samuel Arama


Load app to read more comments