Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Koimburi Finally Wins Juja By-election Despite Interruption By James Nyoro & Alledged Intimidations

The newly elected Juja Constituency Member of Parliament George Koimburi who has been declared the winner of yesterday's by-election.

The People's Empowerment Party (PEP) candidate George Koimburi has finally been announced as the winner of Juja Constituency Member of Parliament by-election, after garnering 12,159 votes out of the total votes casted representing more than 50 percent of the total votes. He has been followed by a Jubilee Party candidate Susan Waititu Wakapee who garnered 5,746 votes.

Koimburi has emerged out as the winner after the completion of the tallying process, despite being interrupted by the Kiambu County Governor Dr James Nyoro's group which stormed the function, forcing the Independent Electrol and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to postpone the tallying process up to today morning.

The process has also alleged to have been interrupted by the government, through the police officers who were intimidating the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) Party officials and supporters. This was done in favour of the Jubilee candidate Susan Waititu to win the election.

Content created and supplied by: Qwetutimes (via Opera News )

George Koimburi James Nyoro Juja Koimburi Susan Waititu


Load app to read more comments