Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

President William Ruto suspends four IEBC commissioners On 2nd December.2022.

The president has suspended four IEBC commissioners in response to the allegations of gross misconduct and constitutional violations. The commissioners include; Juliana Whonge Cherera,Francis Mathenge Wanderi,Irene Cherop Masit and Justus Abonyo Nyang'aya.

The president as per The National Assembly's Justice and Legal Affairs committee's report adopted on Thursday 1st of December, formed a nine-member tribunal to carry out the investigations over the conduct of the four. The nine-member tribunal is to be chaired by Justice Aggrey Muchelule.

The suspension is to have way for the investigations after disputing the presidential election results announced by Wafula Chebukati on 9th August 2022. The commissioners had alleged that the chairperson Chebukati had altered the results in favour of president William Ruto and disenfranchised Raila Odinga his main competitor.

As directed the tribunal shall be expected to;

(a.) Expedite the probe and submit a report and it's recommendations.

(b.) Exercise all the powers conferred to by the law of Kenya for proper execution of it's mandate.

The tribunal can recommend sacking of the of the commissioners or a full reinstatement to the job.

During the suspension, the commissioners won't be allowed to continue with their duties,but they will be paid half of their monthly salaries.

Content created and supplied by: Milcaa (via Opera News )

Francis Mathenge Wanderi IEBC Irene Cherop Masit Juliana Whonge Cherera National Assembly


Load app to read more comments