Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Uasin Gishu: 3 MPs Whose Reelection In 2022 Is At Stake For Consistently Criticizing Dp Ruto

After the 2018 Handshake between president Uhuru Kenyatta and Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) leader Raila Odinga, divisions and betrayal emerged in the ruling party Jubilee.

Two factions emerged in the ruling party among them Kieleweke and Tanga Tanga. Kieleweke comprised of lawmakers particularly from Central Kenya led by Nyeri Town Member of Parliament Ngunjiri Wambugu. Their objective was to defend the handshake and president Uhuru Kenyatta from criticism. They were also ardent critics of deputy president Dr William Ruto. With time, the group gained more members as MPs from Nyanza, Rift Valley and other parts of the country joined it.

Tanga Tanga on the other hand was a faction created by deputy president Dr William Ruto's faction of Jubilee. It comprised of majority of elected leaders from Rift Valley and a number of others from Central and other regions in the country. Their goals was to accompany Dr Ruto on development tours across the country and campaign for his 2022 bid.

Divisions within Jubilee worsened as the two functions engaged in verbal exchanges and political mudslinging whereby Dr Ruto was on the receiving end.

The DP lost his trusted footsoldiers to Kieleweke and other political factions, some of who hailed from Uasin Gishu. Nonetheless, the lawmakers' reelection could be at stake in 2022 for defying Dr Ruto. The MPs who have abandoned Dr Ruto's since 2017 and would be struggling to be reelected in 2022 include:

1) William Chepkut - Ainabkoi MP constituency

Chepkut was elected to Parliament in 2017 on an independent ticket after trouncing his Jubilee rival and incumbent MP then Samuel Chepkonga. Chepkonga defeated Chepkut in Jubilee party primaries.

The MP who is known for his drama has started criticizing Dr Ruto unlike before where he was praising him. This could prove hard for him to be reelected in 2022 since majority of his constituents are DP Ruto's supporters.

2) Shwarup Mishra - Kesses constituency

The Kesses MP of Indian origin who owns Mediheal groups of Hospitals in Kenya was the DP loyal solder until he recently ditched him for Baringo senator.

He has started castigating Dr Ruto's political endeavours. Kesses being among the constituencies in Rift Valley where the deputy president enjoys almost an absolute support, Mishra might find it hard for him to be reelected in 2022.

3) Silas Kipkoech Tiren - Moiben constituency

Silas Kipkoech Tiren is serving his second term as Moiben constituency MP. He was Dr Ruto's close ally.

However, he abandoned the DP where he started agitating for the rights of maize farmers and blamed him for the tribulations facing them.

Moiben is also a hometurf of Dr Ruto and this would complicate matters for Tiren's bid to retain his seat in 2022.

Content created and supplied by: Tororey (via Opera News )

Jubilee Rift Valley Uasin Gishu Uhuru Kenyatta William Ruto


Load app to read more comments