Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Kiambu: 3 MPs Who Have Never Announced Whether They Are Affiliated To Kieleweke Or Tangatanga

Kiambu is the hotbed of Kenya's national politics and it is amongst the vote-rich counties in the country.

Past and current presidential aspirants have been camping in the county. They have been fighting to have a piece of the support-base to leverage their chances of winning. Most of them have been doing so by courting elected representatives, mostly Members of Parliament.

When a fallout emerged in the ruling party Jubilee between president Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy Dr William Ruto's respective factions, a split among its MPs also occurred. The Kieleweke faction was led by Nyeri Town Member of Parliament Ngunjiri Wambugu while Tangatanga team was allies to the DP.

The divisions were ocassioned by debate on 2022 succession politics debate where Dr Ruto adamantly continued popularizing his 2022 bid while at the same time supervising implementation of government projects.

There were MPs who have since stuck with the second in command since then. Majority hail from the former Rift Valley and Central regions.

In Kiambu county, Anthony Kimani Ichung'wah (Kikuyu) and Moses Kuria (Gatundu South) initially stood with the DP.

However, there has been recent defection to Dr Ruto's camp from Kieleweke. Among those who have joined Tangatanga in the county include Githua Wamucukuru (Kabete), John Njuguna (Kiambaa) and George Koimburi (Juja).

Wanjiku Wa Kibe (Gatundu North), Peter Mwathi (Limuru), Mburu Kahangara (Lari) and Jude Njomo (Kiambu Township) are still in Kieleweke.

Nontheless, three lawmakers have never come out in public to pledge alliance to either side of the ruling party. They have been busy delivering on pledges they made in the run to 2017 general election. They include:

1) Simon Kingara - Ruiru

He defeated the incumbent Esther Gathogo, former nominated senator Isaac Mwaira and others. He has never been heard publicly following either Kieleweke or Tangatanga.

2) Patrick Wainaina (Wa Jungle) - Thika Town

Wajungle was elected on an independent ticket in 2017 after beating Alice Ng'ang'a of Jubilee.

3) Gabriel Kago - Githunguri

He was also elected for the first time in 2017 on a Jubilee ticket.

All the aforementioned legislators have never been heard claiming that they were either affiliated to Uhuru (Kieleweke) or Dr Ruto (Tangatanga)

Content created and supplied by: Tororey (via Opera News )

Anthony Kimani Ichung'wah Kiambu Kieleweke Nyeri Town Rift Valley


Load app to read more comments