Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

President William Ruto suspends the four embattled IEBC commissioners

President William Ruto has formally suspended the four embattled commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) and formed a tribunal to consider a petition seeking their removal from office.

The Head of State in a Gazette Notice on Friday issued the order directing that Vice Chairperson Juliana Whonge Cherera, Commissioners Francis Mathenge Wanderi, Irene Cherop Masit and Justus Abonyo Nyang’aya step down from office pending the advisory of the tribunal.

He said the decision came following a recommendation by the National Assembly that sought to oust the commissioners over their conduct during the August 9th, 2022 General Election.

The four IEBC Commissioners came out to say That the numbers fir the August 9th election did not add up. She added that the results where opaque because the Chairman Wafula Chebukati was not open about the August 9th election numbers.

The Azimio la umoja Party leader Hon.Raila Odinga claims that the suspension of the four embattled IEBC Commissioners (‘Cherera Four’) is a ploy by President Ruto to rig the next election in 2027.

He says, On the 7th of December, Azimio will launch the public consultations forum at the historical Kamkunji grounds. And they will return to the same grounds in 12th of December to continue with the consultations.

The President appointed the Court of Appeal Judge Aggrey Muchelule to chair a five-member tribunal to probe four embattled IEBC Commissioners; Caroline Daudi, Linda Kiome, Mathew Nyabena, and Khamis Saed also appointed to the tribunal.

Story by kizo Rodgers

Content created and supplied by: UASINGISHUNEWSONLINE (via Opera News )

Francis Mathenge Wanderi IEBC Irene Cherop Masit National Assembly William Ruto


Load app to read more comments