Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

15 Kenya’s Chief Justices Since Independence; Years Each Served in Office

Photo Courtesy: Rtd CJ David Maraga

According to Kenya 2010, Kenya has three arms of government; Legislature, Judiciary and Executive. 

In this article we'll check on Judiciary as an of government and how the three arms co-exist in terms of working together. Also, We will be able to know the presidents of Judiciary since after independence and periods each served in office.

1. 1963-1967 Sir John Ainley

2. 1967-1968 Arthur D. Farrell

3. 1968-1971 Kitili Mwendwa

4. 1971-1992 Sir James Wicks

5. 1982-1985 Alfred Simpson

6. 1985-1986 Chunilal B. Madan

7. 1986-1989 Cecil H.E Miller

8. 1989-1993 Robin A. W. Hancox

9. 1993-1995 Kwasi Apaloo

10. 1995-1997 Abdul Majid Cockar

11. 1997-1999 Zachaeus R. Chesoni

12. 1999-2003 Bernard Chunga 

13. 2003-2011 Evan Gicheru

14. 2011-2017 Willy M. Mutunga

15. 2017-2021 David Maraga

However, David Maraga is the recent to retire as Kenya's Chief Justice or rather President of Supreme court. The constitutional process to replace him is currently ongoing as nine contestants have thrown hats in the ring each with hope to win the coveted position.

The Judiciary interprets the law and makes judgement. When people break the law, the exercutive, using police officers, arrests and take them before the Judiciary. The Judiciary, using magistrates and judges in Courts, look at the law made by the parliament to determine whether one has broken the law or not.

Content created and supplied by: NewsYako (via Opera News )

David Maraga James Wicks John Ainley Judiciary Kenya


Load app to read more comments