Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Isaac Rutto Reacts After The President Scrapped Devolution Ministry, Reveals What Happened in 2013

Shortly after President William Ruto unveiled the members of his cabinet on Tuesday during a press briefing at State House, what stood out was the conspicuous absence of the Devolution Cabinet Secretary.

His move continues to elicit mixed reactions across the political space, with its current holder CS Eugene Wamalwa questioning the president's move, same to Kisumu Governor Anyang' Nyong'o.

The duties which were previously assigned to the Devolution CS have been collapsed to be performed by the Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua.

Speaking with Citizen TV on Wednesday, Former Bomet Governor and a former chairman of the council of Governors argued that the move was long overdue, revealing that the governors who were elected in 2013 questioned its essence.

"The existence of that ministry was wrong in the first place, it should not have happened, and should not even be there. In 2013, we opposed it as the council of Governors, but we had to work with it. The fact is that forming a Devolution ministry is indeed belittling devolution, and growth of the counties," said Rutto.

Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru who is the current chairperson of the Council of Governor served as the Devolution CS in the former President Uhuru Kenyatta's first term.

Other leaders who have defended Ruto's decision to do away with the ministry include Former Mandera Governor Billow Kerrow, and Political Strategist David Makali, both of whom claimed that the ministry is unnecessary as the constitution provides other institutions that link up the county governments to the National government.

On the nominated cabinet secretaries, the president has received praise and criticism in equal measure, with most Kenyans lauding him for considering regional balance, although some have raised the issue of integrity of some of the nominees.

Content created and supplied by: Ryndy (via Opera News )

Bomet CS Eugene Wamalwa Devolution CS Isaac Rutto Kisumu


Load app to read more comments