Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

List of Politicians Eyeing Homabay County in 2022 Gubernatorial Race

Homabay County Gubernatorial race will be hotly contested in 2022. The race to succeed the current governor, Hon Cyprian Awiti who is serving his last term has attracted a number of potential politicians within the region. From the top left clockwise:

1. Mr. Louis Otieno

2. Dr. Evans Kidero.

3. Hon. Oyugi Magwanga

4. Hon. Gladys Wanga

5. Hon. John Mbadi

Mr. Louis Onyango Otieno

He has served in the following capacities from 2012 to present.

a) Chairman Of The Board, Absa Asset Management (K) Ltd from Feb 2020 -Present

b) Chairman Of The Board, Sera Afrika (K) from Oct 2019 - Present

c) Non Executive Director, Absa Bank Kenya from Jan 2018 - Present

d) Non Executive Director, Nation Media Group from Jan 2017 - Present

Dr Evans Odhiambo Kidero

Was the First Governor of the Nairobi County between 2013 and 2017. Lost the re-election to expunged Governor Sonko. Dr Kidero also served as MD at Mumias Sugar Company.

Hon. Joseph Oyugi Magwanga

Hon. Oyugi has served as a Member of Parliament of Kasipul Kabondo since 2007 to 2017. He ran for a gubernatorial seat in 2017 in Homa Bay county and lost to Awiti Cyprian.

Hon. Gladys Wanga

She's the current women's representative of Homabay County since 2013. She also served as a program manager at LVCT.

Hon John Mbadi Ng'ongo

He is the current member of parliament of Suba South contituency formerly the Gwassi contituency since 2007. He is the ODM party chairman also serving as a member of the Public Accounts Committee and the Budget & Appropriations Committee. In the 10th Parliament, he served as a member of the Public Investments Committee and the Budget Committee. He is also the current National Assembly minority leader.

Content created and supplied by: TJOwino (via Opera News )

Cyprian Awiti Homabay County John Mbadi Louis Onyango Otieno Oyugi Magwanga


Load app to read more comments