Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

All Eyes on President Uhuru Kenyatta After he is Once Again Asked to Dissolve Parliament

A file photo of president Uhuru Kenyatta with speaker Justin Muturi.

Former Marakwet West Constituency Member of Parliament Honourable David Sudi has asked president Uhuru Kenyatta to dissolve parliament.

This follows the chaos that erupted this week during the debates on the controversial Political Parties Amendment Bill of 2021 in the National Assembly.

The former MP who is also the party leader of New Democrats party, said time is rife for the Head of State to dissolve the House, saying it was disreputable for MPs to fight during sessions.

"It is crystal clear that the current Parliament is pregnant with corruption. We want the current Parliament dissolved and a snap election called,” Sudi told journalists in Eldoret.

This comes after the chaos that erupted in parliament on Wednesday afternoon as lawmakers clashed during a debate on the controversial Political Parties Amendment Bill.

Members of the Tangatanga and handshake factions threw water bottles at each other, arguing over alleged vote rigging during the voting process. The motion was tabled by Kandara MP Alice Wahome, a staunch supporter of Deputy President William Ruto.

Interim Speaker Chris Omulele had to suspend the special session of the parliament to calm down.

After the situation calmed down, Mr Omulele ousted Minority Leader John Mbadi from parliament for assaulting and injuring Sigowet / Soin MP Benard Koros during the chaos.

"Mr. Speaker, I am injured. It is sad that I have been wounded in this dignified parliament. I have been attacked by a violent mp in this parliament. We cannot accept injuries in this parliament, such hooliganism should not be allowed to continue Mr. Speaker, ”complained Mr Koros.

The MP, who is a close associate of Deputy President William Ruto, suffered facial injuries and bleeding, during the nearly 15-minute confrontation.

Content created and supplied by: Jay_Moh (via Opera News )

Alice Wahome David Sudi Marakwet West Uhuru Kenyatta William Ruto


Load app to read more comments