Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

4 Prominent Kenyan Politicians Who Were First Nominated Before Being Elected

1.Cecily Mbarire.

Cecily Mbarire is a Kenyan politician and one of the female governors we have in the country.Cecily won the Embu county gubernatorial seat in 2022 general elections.Cecily was born on 26th December 1972 in Runyenjes constituency in Embu county.Cecily previously served as the member of Parliament for Runyenjes constituency.She belongs to the United Democratic Alliance (UDA).

The female governor served as a nominated MP for two terms and as an elected MP for two terms.She served as the elected member of parliament from 2007 to 2017.Cecily also served as two terms nominated Member of Parliament in the year 2002 - 2007 and 2017 - 2022.

She was first nominated as the member of parliament in 2002 to 2007.In 2007 general elections she vied under PNU party ticket and in 2013 general elections she retained the seat.She was nominated as the MP again by Jubilee party from 2017 to 2022.In 2022 general elections she was elected as the Embu governor under the UDA party ticket.

2.Johnson Sakaja.

Johnson Sakaja is a Kenyan politician and the current Nairobi county governor.He previously served as the Nairobi county senator from 2017 to 2022, and as a nominated Member of the National Assembly from 2013 to 2017.

The good looking governor was among the people who helped in forming the TNA party.He then became the chairman of TNA party.He served as the chairman until TNA merged with 12 other parties,where they formed a Jubilee.The party therefore nominated him as the member of the National Assembly.

In 2017 general elections Sakaja won the Nairobi Seat under Jubilee party ticket.2022 general elections he won the Nairobi county gubernatorial seat under UDA party ticket defeating Polycarp Igathe of ODM.

3.Millie Odhiambo.

Millie Odhiambo is a Kenyan politician who is the current Suba North member of Parliament.She is also a trained lawyer ,women and children rights activist. She was born on 1st November 1966.Millie belongs to the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM).

Millie Odhiambo thought of becoming the Suba North member of Parliament when she was young at the age of 13 years.She was known for her outspoken personality.

Millie Odhiambo was nominated to the National Assembly by ODM party in the year 2008.In 2013 general elections she was elected as the Suba North Member of parliament.In 2017 general elections she was re-elected as the Mp and in 2022 general elections she retained the seat.

4.Naisula Leesuda.

Naisula Lesuuda is a Kenyan politician and the current Samburu West constituency member of parliament.She is also a women 's rights activist.Naisula became the first woman to be elected as a Member of Parliament from Samburu County in 2017 general elections.

The beautiful MP was a journalist before she joined politics in 2013.She worked as a journalist for the Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC) as a News Anchor, Reporter and where she hosted Good Morning Kenya.She also ran a Media consultancy firm, where she worked as a trainer and workshop facilitator.

Naisula Lesuuda’s political journey started in 2013 when she was nominated to serve as a Senator in Kenya where she also served as the vice chair of the Kenya Women Parliamentary Association (KEWOPA).In 2017 she was elected as member of Parliament for Samburu West constituency and in 2022 general elections she retained the seat.

For more information like, comment and share.

Content created and supplied by: Belicenyamoita (via Opera News )

Cecily Mbarire Kenyan


Load app to read more comments