Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

What CJ Koome Has Been Ordered to do if Kenyatta Refuses to Appoint The Judges He Rejected

(President Uhuru Kenyatta)

President Uhuru Kenyatta's controversial decision of refusing to appoint 6 high court Judges recommended for promotion to the Court of appeal has come back to haunt him.

This is after the High court ordered on Thursday the head of state to appoint the Judges within 14 days, failure to which CJ Martha Koome has been ordered to swear them into office after the deadline lapses.

"High Court gives President Kenyatta 14 days to appoint six judges he failed to approve in June 2021; Chief Justice @CJMarthaKoome to swear them in after deadline lapses."

In June, President Uhuru Kenyatta refused to appoint the Judges, citing integrity issues amid protests from a section of Kenyans and top legal practitioners in the country.

The 6 judges Kenyatta refused to appoint are Judge Joel Ngugi, Judge George Odunga, Judge Aggrey Muchelule , Judge Weldon Korir ,Judge Judith Omange and Judge Evans Makori.

Content created and supplied by: SpectacleNews (via Opera News )

Aggrey Muchelule George Odunga Joel Ngugi Kenyatta Martha Koome


Load app to read more comments