Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Meet Longest Serving MP In Kenya For 50 Years Who Has Never Lost Any Legislative Elections

Winning a political seat in the country has never been a walk in the park. For one to win, he or she must have a powerful political strategy not only to win but to be able to retain his or her political seat in the next elections

Ever since independence, there is only one Kenyan politician who has never lost in a legislative elections. This is none other that former President Mwai Kibaki. Kibaki has been in Parliament since 1963 till he retired in politics

Fresh after graduating from Makerere University, Mwai Kibaki won his first legislative seat as the MP for Donholm Constituency in 1963. Even after this Constituency was later renamed as Bahati Constituency, Mwai Kibaki won it thrice.

This was before he relocated to his Othaya Constituency, Nyeri where he was brought up. Just like he conquered in Nairobi politics, Mwai Kibaki also conquered in Nyeri politics whereby he won the Othaya Constituency seat with a landslide.

Until his retirement, Mwai Kibaki served as the MP for Othaya for 40 years whereby he won in eight consecutive general polls. Mwai Kibaki hold the record as the longest serving MP in Kenya whereby he was in Parliament for 50 years and has never lost any legislative elections

Content created and supplied by: Handasfield (via Opera News )

Bahati Kenya Makerere University Mwai Kibaki Nyeri


Load app to read more comments