Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

A Big Blow to the Government as These Cabinet Secretaries Have Been Ruled to be in Office Illegally by The Court

The judiciary has landed a big blow to Uhuru's government after ruling out that 10 cabinet secretaries including the powerful Dr Fred Matiangi are in office illegally.This comes after the president is out of the country for a state visit.

The court said the cabinet secretaries were appointed in Jubilee during the first term but were not veted by parliament to serve in the second term.The office of the chief administration secretary that was created on 2018 was also ruled out to be unconstitutional.

Other cabinet secretaries in office illegally include:

1.Defence cabinet secretary Rachel Omamo.

2.Energy cabinet secretary Charles Keter.

3.Tourism Cabinet Secretary Najib Balala.

4.ICT cabinet secretary Joseph Mucheru.

5.Transport cabinet secretary James Macharia.

6.Water cabinet secretary Cecily Kariuki.

7.Sports cabinet secretary Amina Mohammed.

8.Devolution cabinet secretary Eugene Wamalwa.

9.East Africa Community cabinet secretary Adan Mohammed.

The court also declared that those permanent secretaries who were not shortlisted, interviewed and appointed in line with the law are holding their positions contrary to the constitution.

The court also ruled out that the office of chief administrative secretary established in 2018 as unconstitutional.The court said the view of the law was not followed in creating these positions.

The court also demanded for the 2/3 gender rule to be withheld for all appontive positions.

However the court suspended the implementation of its decision saying it would distrupt the orderly operations of the ministries.

The court however ordered the Attorney general to file an avidavitt providing details of all members in the cabinet as of January 2018,the current members of the cabinet, their gender,age and ethnicity of all the current cabinet and principal secretaries.

Content created and supplied by: Kelthedon (via Opera News )

Adan Mohammed Cecily Kariuki Charles Keter Eugene Wamalwa Najib Balala


Load app to read more comments