Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

DP Ruto Summons Top President Uhuru's Cabinet Secretaries to His Karen Home Causing Jitters

Deputy President William Ruto has summoned five President Uhuru Kenyatta's iron men together with the council of governors to a meeting of IBEC. The IBEC (Inter-governmental Budget and Economic Council) meeting has been scheduled next week. This has however caused jitters as next year's politics continues to heat up. However the DP has summoned 5 of President Kenyatta's Cabinet Secretaries at a moment when their relations is at all-time low. The influence of DP Ruto in the government has also reduced. 

It has however raised questions on whether the Cabinet Secretaries will show up as a result of the sour relationship between the country's most powerful man and his deputy. Questions have also been raised on whether the Cabinet Secretaries will show up at the meeting as some of them have even publicly criticized the DP.

Shockingly, the choice of venue raises more questions. This is because the venue has been selected to be Deputy President William Ruto's Karen residence. This is the same place the Deputy President has been hosting his Hustler Nation team which may make it difficult for the Cabinet Secretaries to show up. 

The Cabinet Secretaries that the Deputy President William Ruto has summoned include the National Treasury CS Ukur Yatani; Education Cabinet Secretary Professor George Magoha; CS for Transport, Infrastructure, Housing, Urban Development and Public Works James Macharia and Cabinet Secretary of Agriculture Peter Munya. CS of Devolution Charles Keter has also been invited. The invitation was done through a letter from the office of the Deputy President stating that the meeting will be held on Monday, 22nd November 2021. 

Other key people invited into the same meeting include Martin Wambora (Chair of Council of Governors), Auditor-General Nancy Gathungu, Anne Amadi (Chief Registrar in the Judiciary), Margaret Nyakang'o (Controller of Budget), Ndegwa Wahome (chair in County Assemblies Forum), Jane Kiringai (chairperson Commission on Revenue Allocation), Michael Sialai (Clerk of the National Assembly) as well as John Burugu who is the acting chairperson of the Inter-govt Relations Technical Committee.

Content created and supplied by: Description (via Opera News )

DP George Magoha IBEC James Macharia Uhuru Kenyatta


Load app to read more comments