Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Good News To Raila Odinga As 6 Legislators Decamp To ODM Ahead Of 2022 Poll

Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party leader Raila Odinga's jolted plans to mobilize his presidency alongside ODM party has already started bolting fruitful outcomes as over six MCAs from Kisii county have vowed to seek their re-elections under ODM party tickets.

Raila Odinga's key allies from Kisii county (Governor James Ongwae, Senator Prof Sam Ongeri, Women Representative Janet Ong'era and ODM Kisii chairman Kerosi Ondieki) received the six defectors to the ODM party who bolded their firm stand of drumming for Raila's presidency and strategize plans to market ODM party to the ground people.

The MCAs who defected to ODM include Samuel Onuko Ismael Matundura (Independent), Riana ward's Vincent Mosaib and Nyakoe's John Amisi (Wiper), Bogetenga ward's Samuel Ngisa and Marani's Dennis Ombachi (People's Democratic Party). This was a calculated move by the Kisii county Governor Hon James Ongwae who is Raila Odinga's longtime defender to see the MCAs decamp to ODM.

While addressing scores of ODM representatives at Nyamataro Shopping Centre where he commissioned the official opening of the party's county office, urged the ODM resourceful mobilizers to recruit more members in the spirited mood of propelling Raila to the country's top seat in 2022.

"Other regions have produced Presidents for almost 60 years, it is time for the Nyanza region to produce the next president in 2022" he said.

He also noted that the locals who have attained the age of 18 years and above and they are yet to acquire the Identification Cards should gear in swift moves to get the cards so that they can be registered as voters.

The party's County Chairman Hon Ong'era insisted that the ODM party has opened wide doors for the new members to join and strengthen the party so that they can increase the crusading bits of the former Prime Minister Raila Odinga's presidential ambition.

Content created and supplied by: OumaAllan (via Opera News )

Janet Ong'era Kisii ODM Raila Odinga Vincent Mosaib


Load app to read more comments