Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Africa politics

The Rich History of Kenya's State Law Office.

Popularly known as Office of Attorney General before being renamed vide Article 156 of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 and the Office of the Attorney General Act 2012 that establishes the Office of the Attorney General.

Executive Order No 1 of 2016 changed the name of the Office of Attorney General and Department of Justice to State Law Office and Department of Justice.

Role of the Attorney General is Government’s principal legal advisor, responsible for representing the national Government in court or any other legal proceedings to which the national Government is a party (other than criminal proceedings) and for performing any other functions conferred to the Office by an Act of Parliament or by the President.

List of former Attorney Generals who have served in Kenya include Charles Mugane Njonjo ((1963–1979), James B. Karugu (1980 - 1981), Joseph Kamere (1981 - 1983), Mathew Guy Muli (1983 - 1991), Amos Wako (1991 - 2011), Prof. Githu Muigai ( 2011 - 2018), Paul Kihara (2018 to date).

Content created and supplied by: Thorntree (via Opera News )

Charles Mugane Njonjo Githu Muigai Kenya Office of Attorney General Paul Kihara


Load app to read more comments