Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Two Mount Kenya Constituencies Where MPs Never Get Re-elected

The Kenyan electorate has been educated in the recent years and politicians are now elected based on their merit. Below are two constituencies in Mount Kenya region where MPs has served only one term.

1. Kiharu Constituency

Ever since Kiharu was formed in 1992 no MP has served for more than one term. The first MP was Kenneth Matiba in 1992 who was then replaced by Ngenye Kariuki of Safina in 1997. In 2002 Ngenye was replaced by Kembi Gitura of Narc. In 2007, Gitura was kicked out and Barnabas Muturi Mwangi of Sisi kwa sisi took over until 2013 when Irungu Kangata of TNA won the seat. Kangata served until 2017 and left the seat to ran for Muranga senotirial seat. The Kiharu seat is currently held by Ndindi Nyoro of Jubilee. The 2022 general elections will put Nyoro on the spot if he will break the record and remain an MP or he will be kicked out.

2. Tetu Constituency

Tetu was formed back in 1988 and the first MP was Nahashon Kanyi of KANU. In 1992 Kanyi was removed and he was replaced by Joseph Gethenji of Democratic party. In 1997 Gethenji was also removed and Paul Gikonyo Muya took over until 2002 when he was replaced by the late Wangari Mathaai of Narc.

In 2007 Francis Nyamo ousted Wangari and served until 2013 when 2013 Ndung'u Gethenje of TNA party clinched the seat. In 2017 Gethenje lost the seat to Mwangi Gichuhi.

Tetu and Kiharu constituencies together with Alego Usonga, Rangwe and Butula will be on the spot in 2022 having not re-elected an MP since they were formed.

Content created and supplied by: Ezra-Nyakundi (via Opera News )

Barnabas Muturi Kembi Gitura Kenneth Matiba Kiharu Constituency Mount Kenya


Load app to read more comments