Sign in
Download Opera News App



IEBC Updated List: Week 2, Top 10, Bottom 10 Counties in the Ongoing Voter Registration

The Enhanced Continuous Voter Registration (ECVR) which has been going on for the last two weeks continues to elicit mixed reaction especially because the turnout has relatively been very low. This week the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission have released yet another list showing how the counties have performed so far.

In a report dated 2021-10-18 the IEBC stated that the total number of voters who have been registered within the first 2 weeks of the process is 491968 which is still far from their target of 3000000.

In their report they highlighted the total ECVR target per county, week 2 targets, week 2 achievements and Week 2 percentage achievement.

The list below will show the top ten counties in terms of week 2 percentage achievement;

1.     Turkana 35%

2.     Samburu 31%

3.     West Pokot 30%

4.     Wajir 28%  

5.     Mandera 28%

6.     Elgeyo Marakwet 27%

7.     Baringo 26%

8.     Narok 26%

9.     Garisa 26%

10. Tana River 24%

Using the same criteria the list of counties which have performed dismally are here below;

Tharaka Nithi 12%

Nairobi 12%

Mombasa 11%

Kirinyaga 11%

Laikipia 10%

Embu 10%

Nyandarua 9%

Kiambu 9%

Muranga 8%

Nyeri 7%

Based on the expectations of the IEBC, this is definitely a very poor result. The IEBC at one point cried foul while blaming the government for failing to allocate enough funds in preparation for the 2022 general election. Could this dismal result be attributed to the lack of funds?

It is a question that we cannot answer as at now however what remains clear is that the IEBC may not reach the 6 million targets in the next two weeks at this pace.  

Many politicians, aspirants, churches and lobby groups have been leading in sensitizing the public about voter registration in the past two weeks across the country however it now seems that their efforts have not yielded any good results yet. 

Content created and supplied by: @DAVEWERE (via Opera News )

ECVR Elgeyo Marakwet Enhanced Continuous Voter Registration IEBC Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission


Load app to read more comments