Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




US politics

IEBC Announces Second Mass Voter Registration Dates

In January 2022, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) will perform its second mass voter registration. Hussein Marjan, acting CEO of the IEBC, revealed during the Editors Guild Annual Convention that the national treasury had provided funding for the exercise. "The funds will be used to support the second round of enhanced continuous voter registration (ECVR), which will take place in January 2022," he stated. The IEBC will make a concerted effort to reach out to more eligible voters who were left out of the previous voter registration exercise, which lasted over a month.

The first mass voter registration exercise began on October 4, 2021, and ended on November 5, 2021, with the IEBC falling far short of its voter registration goal. The electoral authority only managed to register 1.5 million voters, falling short of the entire target of 6 million by an average of 4.5 million people.

Because the commission had previously said that they would not be conducting additional registration, the national treasury had refused to allocate the exact amount of money required for the full election process, which amounted to Ksh40.9 billion. When he testified before the Senate Committee on Justice, Legal Affairs, and Human Rights earlier this month, IEBC Chair Wafula Chebukati signaled that registration would resume.

IEBC also announced that the diaspora population would be included in the registration process. However, not all Kenyans living abroad will be able to vote. Qatar, South Sudan, the United Arab Emirates, the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Germany are among the countries on the IEBC's list that will have diaspora voter registration. The IEBC also claimed that it is working to resolve difficulties that have plagued its tendering process, which it wants to complete by the end of the year.

Content created and supplied by: TrendMaster (via Opera News )

Hussein Marjan IEBC Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission


Load app to read more comments