Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Meet the Only Cabinet Secretary who has retained his Office for 13 years

Cabinet secretaries are members of the executive arm of government which is led by the President. Their role is to oversight various departments in the ministry and is accountable individually and collectively, to the president for the exercise of their powers.

The president nominates the Cabinet Secretary for respective ministries and with the approval of the National Assembly, appoints them. The president also may re-assign or dismiss a cabinet Secretary in office.

In Kenya very few Cabinet secretaries have remained or retained their office for a period exceeding 5 years. Many are dismissed or re-assign roles in the cabinet due to corruption or abuse office cases.

However, there is one cabinet Secretary who has retained in office for 13 years. This is Najib Balala, the cabinet Secretary for Tourism. He was elected in 2003 as the member of parliament for Mvita constituency where he served for 10 years until 2013.

In 2008, Former President Mwai Kibaki appointed him to work in his cabinet as the minister for tourism until 2012. In the year 2013, President Uhuru Kenyatta appointed him as the Cabinet Secretary for the same office and upto date, he is still the cabinet secretary for Tourism.

Content created and supplied by: Vidcom (via Opera News )

Kenya Mvita Mwai Kibaki Najib Balala


Load app to read more comments