Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Kenyans told of a new political age emerging in Mount Kenya after the yellow wave wipes Jubilee

After newcomers defeated established political figures in the general election on Tuesday, a new political age is emerging in Mount Kenya.

The only prominent figure to survive the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) assault is Mwangi Kiunjuri, the former secretary of state for agriculture and leader of The Service Party (TSP). The independent candidate Kawira Mwangaza defeated Meru Governor Kiraitu Murungi.

Among the first to lose their positions were Jeremiah Kioni, secretary general of the Jubilee Party, Amos Kimunya, a member of parliament from Kipipiri, Kanini Kega, Moses Kuria, a former governor of Kiambu, William Kabogo, a governor of Laikipia, Ndiritu Muriithi and Ephraim Maina, a senator from Nyeri.

After President Uhuru Kenyatta's resignation, Mr. Kiunjuri won back the Laikipia East parliamentary seat in a fiercely contested battle against the incumbent Amin Deddy advancing his bid to become the political powerhouse of Mt. Kenya.

The Tharaka Nithi Woman Representative seat went to Mr. Kiunjuri's TSP as all the other Mt. Kenya heavyweights were defeated by lesser known candidates.

Content created and supplied by: TownshipNews (via Opera News )

Jeremiah Kioni Laikipia Moses Kuria Mount Kenya United Democratic Alliance


Load app to read more comments