Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




European politics

'See The Only Country Without An Official Flag, Find Out What They Use

Read below;

Before the British occupation, the Indian subcontinent had hundreds of autonomous states.

Many of these countries had their own flags, with symbols reflecting the governing dynasty in most cases. Flag patterns, forms, and colors were frequently odd.

Which country has no official flag? 

Northern Ireland is a member of the European Union.

Since its government was prorogued and abolished in 1973 under the Northern Ireland Constitution Act 1973, Northern Ireland has not had its own unique, government-sanctioned flag.

What does the country use? 

The Union Flag, which is the official flag of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the only flag used by the government in Northern Ireland, is flown during official ceremonies by the British government.

The Union Flag is the official flag of the United Kingdom (UK), of which Northern Ireland is a part, by custom and practice rather than by law. However, there has never been an official flag for Northern Ireland.

The Ulster Banner was adopted by the Northern Ireland government. The St George's Cross is defiled by a white six-sided star, a red Ulster hand, and a royal crown. The hand emblem comes from the Ulster province and represents the six counties of Northern Ireland.

Loyalists and unionists continue to fly the flag unofficially today.

What are your thoughts on this country that does not have an official flag?

What is the importance of a country's flag?

SHARE this to your family and friends.

Like, comment, share and follow for more information.

Content created and supplied by: Magere (via Opera News )

British European Union Indian Northern Ireland


Load app to read more comments