Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Longest Serving MPs In Kenya

Among the longest Serving MPs in Kenya include the current senator of Siaya county Mr James Orengo. According to the statistics from the iebc Mr Orengo has had the longest tenure in parliament.

Mr Orengo has had time disrupted by election loses ,he was first sent to parliament in a by-election in the year 1980.He lost the seat but regained in the year 1992, when multiparty was introduced in Kenya, he defended the seat in 1997 general elections. Mr Orengo was voted out on 2002 general elections when he vied for presidency on the Social Democratic Party (SDP) ticket. He resigned the seat in 2007 elections.He was then elected in the years 2013 and 2017 as the senator of Siaya county. Before 2013 elections Mr Orengo served as Ugenya MP.

Mr George khaniri is another MP who served longest, he has served uninterrupted terms since he was first elected as an MP in 1996.He first served as an MP for Hamisi constituency

An MP like Mr Jimmy Angwenyi has served for five terms.

Other MPs who have served for four terms since independence are:

Mr. Adan Keynan

Dr. Naomi Shaban

Mr. Katoo Ole Metito

Mr. Cecily Mbarire (nominated)

Mr.Wafula Wamunyinyi

Mr. Samwel Muoroto

Mr. Maina Kamanda

Mr. Konchella.

Content created and supplied by: Navigator (via Opera News )

Adan Keynan Jimmy Angwenyi Kenya Orengo Ugenya


Load app to read more comments