Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Breaking News:Tallying Done? IEBC Finally Announces The Winner Of Nandi Parliamentary Seat

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has announced who defeated popular candidate Alfred Keter. IEBC named Bernard Kitur of UDA the winner as the Nandi Hill member of Parliament.

Keter, who had lost favor with the United Democratic Party (UDA), won the primary elections, but was controversially ousted and Kitur was given the nomination.

After removing his case from the political parties' tribunal, Keter withdrew from the party and made the decision to seek for a third term as an independent.

In 2017, Kitur ran on an independent ticket while Keter ran for office under the Jubilee Party banner.

Keter defeated Kitur by 10,273 votes to 7,476 in the fiercely contested UDA nomination

However, the nominations were shown to be fraudulent and rigged after Kitur filed an appeal with the county's election tribunal, citing voter intimidation and bribery at numerous polling places.

In defiance of the tribunal's directive for re-nomination, the party granted the nomination to Keter's Rival despite Keter's complaints.


Content created and supplied by: Analyst_ke (via Opera News )

Bernard Kitur IEBC Keter Kitur UDA


Load app to read more comments